RTO-ERO District 3 Algoma

Welcome to RTOERO District 3 Algoma

Click to view/download/save/print the PDF Document.

Click to follow link

Take care of yourself!

RTOERO National has sent a strongly worded letter to the Minister of Long-Term Care (and others), expressing our deep concern regarding the tragedy taking place in LTC during the pandemic & the need for permanent change.


District 3’s very own
Click for more!

In the midst of a Pandemic…


Support Immediate Improvements to Long Term Care by CLICKING HERE to send your support in a personalized letter to your elected representative!

Project Service to Others 2020
Ontario Finnish Resthome (Sault) receives $4,000 Grant!

Next General
Membership Meeting

All District 3 Meetings cancelled, until further notice.


The Authors Among Us

Lea Springer:  The Yuletide Knight

Blair Sterling – 2020 Recipient of the Mickey Contini Award of Merit

CLICK for more

“Horrendous, intolerable conditions”
Read More!

Retirees and the Pension Conundrum
Opinion by Roseanne Iland

Travel Allowance
Click here > Zoooooom!

Phone Committee Contacts

Wawa – Barbara Jarvis 705-852-0287

Echo Bay – Jean Campbell

Desbarats – Marny Pollard

Hilton Beach & Richards Landing –       
             Alice Ward 705-246-2392

Thessalon – Linda MacDonald

Elliot Lake – Carol Rossetto  

Iron Bridge – Laurian Montgomery

Algoma Mills & Blind River –
           Blair Sterling 705-356-7072

Bruce Mines – Rita Rawn

Hope everyone is keeping safe! Thank you to all members of this committee, your work is appreciated! I would like to remind everyone to please inform me or one of the executive members if you change your phone number or email or address, it will help keep our lists updated.  Thank you.  Carmelina Spry


Please don’t be a
Meeting “No Show”!

If you’ve committed to attend
a meeting but are unable,
please contact
Carmelina – 705-942-3916

“No Shows” Cost Us $$

THANK YOU Callers!!!

If you are willing to help the telephone committee, contact
 Carmelina, 705-942-3916

RTOERO District 3 – 1,177 members and growing!

Got the “Lockdown Blues“?
Craving a Warm HUG??
Coffee and a chat with a friend???

District 3 RTOERO invites you to participate in “Algoma Coffee Chats” on Zoom!

If you are not sure about Zoom, we would make sure you had a mini-tutorial or assistance before the event so that you would feel more comfortable.

The following dates have been set aside for our first Coffee Chats — 1 Hour
Wednesday, April 7 at 10:30 a.m.             Wednesday, April 21 at 10:30 a.m.
Thursday, April 8 at 3:30 p.m.                   Thursday, April 22 at 3:30 p.m.

Don’t forget to bring your cup of coffee or tea!

Importance of providing your Contact Information to RTOERO

For those who have yet to share their email address / phone number with the RTOERO office we strongly encourage you to do so. Providing your most up-to-date contact information allows you to receive timely and important information from RTOERO and your district.

To provide or update your CONTACT INFORMATION, email membership@rtoero.ca or call 1-800-361-9888.

Once you have provided your email address you can easily manage your preferences by clicking on the subscription preferences link included at the bottom of all RTOERO eblasts. This is where you can decide which type of electronic communications you’d like to receive.

Please act now!

Mickey ContiniNominations are open for the

2021 District 3 Mickey Contini Award of Merit

Deadline April 30, 2021

If you wish to nominate an eligible, worthy person, who has made contributions to RTOERO locally and/or provincially,
click HERE.

Musings from the President

It was a time of change at RTOERO this year.

We had our first AGM via Zoom. We learned to vote via an app. It was different but strangely satisfying to know that our organization can continue to support all of you, our members, during this unique time.

Congratulations to Rich Prophet, who is the new Chair of the RTOERO Board of Directors. Did you know this is the third time we have had a President/Chair from District 3, Algoma?  Weldon Abernathy, Mickey Contini and now Rich Prophet have all served RTOERO. The RTOERO Vice Chair also has a connection to Sault Ste Marie and District 3, Algoma. We congratulate our friend Bill Huzar. Gayle Manley, also on the RTOERO Board, is the Benefits Chair.  We are so proud of you and your commitment as volunteers to our organization.

At the RTOERO Annual Meeting, in addition to the elections, the Corporate Members (a new term for the Senators) also dealt with a number of motions presented as By-Law changes, Policy changes , the appointment of Auditors, and the new RTOERO Strategic Plan 2021-2025 be approved. (You will hear more about the Strategic Plan in the coming days, as we continue to move RTOERO into the future.)

We had our first District 3, Algoma, Zoom Executive Meeting October 13, 2020. This published slate of officers was elected.

President: Kathryn Greening

First Vice President: Chris Rous

Second Vice president: Wayne Greco

Secretary: Barbara Perry

Treasurer: Bruce Avery

Past President: Folgo DellaVedova
(Natural progression from President)

We celebrated this year’s recipient of the Mickey Contini Award of Merit Blair Sterling at an informal picnic in Blind River.

We also celebrated our Project Service to Others recipient the Ontario Finnish Resthome Association Audio and Large Print Books for their libraries. Many thanks to Sandy Fulcher and her fellow RTOERO members who worked on this project. We presented their cheque for $4000 on October 30, 2020.

As the end of 2020 approaches, I would like to comment on the changes in our lives. It has been difficult to socially distance, wear a mask, and spend an inordinate amount of time away from family and friends. We, in District 3 Algoma, would like to congratulate you all on meeting the challenge of this difficult year. It appears that 2021 will also reflect the new normal that covid-19 has thrust on us all. There is little chance that we will be meeting face to face in the near future. As a group we would like to reach out to you all in a variety of ways. Suggestions would be gratefully appreciated. Let us know how we can support you.

As the season of Light approaches, regardless of your way of celebrating, my wish to you all is this:

May the spirit of the season bring you peace,
May the gladness of the season give you hope, and
May the warmth of the season grant you love.

Take care,

Kathryn Greening
President District 3 RTOERO